Page 81 - Faculty of Health Sciences

Basic HTML Version

FACULTY OF health scienceS
Research Fields and Staff
Professor Nicolas Novitzky
Haematopoietic stem cell biology; clonogenic assays;
haematopoietic stem cell transplantation; immune
reconstitution; haematological malignancies
Dr Cecile du Toit
Haematopoietic stem cell transplantation; haematological
malignancies; haemophilia
Dr. Andrew McDonald
Haemophilia; thrombophilia; stem cell transplantation
Dr Maureen Stein
Haematopoietic stem cell biology
Dr Jessica Opie
Molecular biology of neoplasia: chronic myelogenous
leukaemia; coagulation abnormalities
Dr Karen Shires
Molecular biology and diagnostics
Dr Shaheen Mowla
Minimal residual disease and flow cytometry.
Mrs Rygana Abdulla
Cellular biology of neoplasia; clonogenic assays
Contact Details
Postal Address: 6th Floor, Chris Barnard Building, Anzio
Road, Observatory, 7925
Telephone: +27 21 406 6154/404 3073
Fax: +27 21 448 8607
Division of Hepatology
Head: A/Professor Wendy Spearman
Divisional Profile
The Division of Hepatology runs the only dedicated liver
clinic as well as the only state liver transplant programme
in the country. We also run a Porphyria clinic.
The unit is referred patients from all provinces in South
Africa as well as from neighbouring countries such as
Zimbabwe and Namibia for assessment regarding the
aetiology and management of both acute and chronic
liver disease and suitability for liver transplantation. These
referrals come from both the private and public sector.
We provide a direct call-in service telephonic to primary,
secondary and tertiary medical centres regarding
management of liver disease. The Liver unit works closely
with the Surgical Hepatobiliary unit and collaborates with
the Surgical Research laboratory.
The major areas of research include: viral hepatitis,
autoimmune liver disease, immune abnormalities in
liver disease, HIV and liver disease, porphyria, liver
transplantation and development of bioartificial liver
support devices.
The unit is actively involved in drawing up national
guidelines for the management of Hepatitis B / HIV
coinfection Hepatitis B and Hepatitis C.
Divisional Statistics
Permanent and Long-term Contract Staff
Associate Professors
Senior Lecturers / Research Officers
Technical Support Staff
Honorary Staff
Honorary staff
Research Fields and Staff
H.N. Hairwadzi
Autoimmune liver disease; viral hepatitis, bone disease in
chronic liver disease
M.W. Sonderup
HIV and liver disease; viral hepatitis; porphyria
C.W.N. Spearman
Liver transplantation; viral hepatitis; paediatric liver
disease, acute liver failure and bioartificial liver support
Contact Details
Postal Address: Division of Hepatology, Department of
Medicine, University of Cape Town, Medical School,
Observatory, 7925
Telephone: +27 21 406 6394
Fax: +27 21 448 6815