Page 3 - Faculty of Science

Basic HTML Version

faculty of SCIENCE
Department of Archaeology
Department of Astronomy
Department of Botany
Department of Chemistry
Department of Computer
Department of Environmental
and Geographical Science
Department of Geological
Department of Mathematics
and Applied Mathematics
Department of Molecular and
Cell Biology
Department of Oceanography
Department of Physics
Department of Statistical
Department of Zoology
also of the Department of Chemistry, as Director. These
add to the 12 previously established URC research
units and centres in the Faculty of Science. The faculty
was privileged to be awarded another SARChI Chair, in
Extra-galactic Multi-wavelength Astronomy, with Professor
Claude Carignan taking up the position to bolster the
rapidly expanding Department of Astronomy.
Staff of the faculty continued to garner national and
international awards for their research contributions.
Professor Jill Farrant of the Department of Molecular and
Cell Biology became the third UCT woman scientist to
win the L’Oréal-UNESCO Women in Science Award in Life
Sciences (region: Africa and Arab States), announced in
November 2011. Another notable achievement was that
of Dr Amanda Weltman, who received the 2011/12 NSTF
– BHP Billiton TW Kambule Award for “an outstanding
contribution to science, engineering, technology and
innovation (SETI) through research and its outputs” by an
emerging researcher. The faculty was privileged to have
three other deserving finalists at the award ceremony