Page 56 - Faculty of Science

Basic HTML Version

UCT Research Report '11
feather disease virus isolates. Journal of General Virology,
92: 752-767.
Verhoog, N., Kotitschke, A., Avenant, C. and Hapgood,
J. 2011. Glucocorticoid-independent repression of
tumor necrosis factor (TNF) a-stimulated Interleukin(il)-6
expression by the glucocorticoid receptor. Journal of
Biological Chemistry, 286(22): 19297-19310.
Woodman, Z., Mlisana, K., Treurnicht, F., Abrahams,
M.H., Thebus, R., Abdool Karim, S. and Williamson, C.
2011. Short communication: decreased incidence of dual
infections in South African subtype C-infected women
compared to a cohort ten years earlier. AIDS Research
and Human Retroviruses, 27(11): 1167-1172.
Peer-reviewed published conference proceedings
Chege, G., Burgers, W., Meyers, A.E., Stutz, H., Kiravu, A.,
Bunjun, R., Chapman, R.E., Shephard, E.G., Rybicki, E.P.
and Williamson, A.-.L. 2011. A prime-boost immunization
with an auxotrophic BCG expressing HIV-1Gag and
Gag VLPs induces broad, polyfunctional memory T cell
responses in baboons. In Proceedings of AIDS Vaccine
2011, 12-15 September 2011, Bangkok, Thailand. USA:
Mary Ann Liebert Inc. ISSN 0889-2229.
Van Hille, R.P., van Wyk, N., Motleleng, L. and Mooruth,
N. 2011. Lessons in passive treatment: Towards efficient
operation of a sulphate reduction - sulphide oxidation
system. In T.R. Rude, A. Freund and C. Wolkersdorfer
(eds), Proceedings of the 11th Congress of the International
Mine Water Association, 4-11 September 2011, Aachen,
Germany. Germany: RWTH Aachen University, Institute of
Hydrogeology on behalf of the International Mine Water
Association. ISBN 978-3-00-035543-1.
Department of
(Including the Nansen-Tutu Centre for Marine
Environmental Research and the Research Diving Unit)
Head of Department: Professor Chris Reason
Departmental Profile
The Department of Oceanography is the only such
Department in sub-Saharan Africa, and is the major
focus for research in physical oceanography, atmospheric
science, ocean circulation, and climate in South Africa
and elsewhere in Africa. The Department has research
groupings in sea-going observations, satellite marine
remote sensing, coastal oceanography, ocean and
atmospheric modelling, marine and coastal meteorology,
severe weather, the science underpinning operational
oceanography, and climate variability and change.
Six scientists in the Department have been favourably
evaluated in the review process of the National Research
Foundation. Active international associations are
maintained by collaborative projects with the Netherlands,
France, Germany, Spain, the UK, Australia, USA and
Canada. The Department maintains close contact with
marine science activities in the governmental, private and
academic sectors in South Africa and into Africa. The
UCT Research Diving Unit (RDU) is housed within the
Department and is fully equipped with a decompression
chamber and compressor. Most scientific diving at UCT is
carried out in conjunction with the RDU.
Departmental Statistics
Permanent and Long-term Contract Staff
Senior Lecturer
Research Staff
Technical Support Staff
Administrative and Clerical Staff
Honorary Staff
Emeritus Professor
Honorary Professor
Honorary Research Associates