Page 40 - UCT Research Report 2011

Basic HTML Version

Although the outcomes of the 2011 submissions only became known – and are to be finalised – in 2012, the outcome is added in the
interest of giving all the information that is available at the time of producing this report.
Animal Evolution and Systematics –
Professor David Jacobs
Applied Proteomics and Chemical Biology –
Professor Jonathan Blackburn
Archive and Public Culture – Professor Carolyn
Astrophysics and Space Science – Professor Erwin
de Bok (until December 2011)/ Dr Tom Jarrett
(from 2012)
Bioprocess Engineering – Professor Susan Harrison
Brain Imaging – Associate Professor Ernesta Meintjes
Cancer Biology – Professor Iqbal Parker
Catalysis – (to be filled)
Climate Change – Professor Bruce Hewitson
Clinical Neurosciences Research –
Associate Professor Marc Combrinck
Computational Mechanics – Professor Daya Reddy
Customary Law – Professor Chuma Himonga
Drug Discovery – Professor Kelly Chibale
Economic Growth, Poverty and Inequality: Exploring
the Interactions for South Africa – Professor
Haroon Bhorat
Health and Wealth in South Africa – Professor
Diane McIntyre
Immunology of Infectious Diseases in Africa –
Professor Frank Brombacher
Infection and Immunity of Poverty-related Diseases
– Professor Keertan Dheda
Islam, African Publics and Religious Values –
Professor Abdulkader Tayob
Land Reform and Democracy in South Africa –
Professor Lungisile Ntsebeza
Marine Ecology and Fisheries – Professor
Astrid Jarre
Migration, Language, and Social Change –
Professor Rajend Mesthrie
Minerals Beneficiation – Professor J-P Franzidis
Modelling of the Coupled Ocean-land-atmosphere
Phenomena Related to Climate – Professor George
Multi-wavelength Astronomy at UCT –
Professor Claude Carignan
Poverty and Inequality Research – Professor Murray
Scientific Computing – Professor Kevin J. Naidoo
Security and Justice – Professor Clifford Shearing
Urban Policy – Professor Edgar Pieterse
Vaccinology – Professor Anna-Lise Williamson
Each of these Chairs is profiled in the relevant feature
articles later in this report.
With an investment value in excess of R1,1 billion since
its inception in 2005, the Department of Science and
Technology’s South African Research Chairs Initiative
(SARChI) was designed to strengthen the country’s
universities to produce high quality research and
innovation output, and through this, increase the quality of
the training of postgraduate students, thereby contributing
more directly to growing the knowledge economy in
South Africa. The SARChI Programme is managed by the
National Research Foundation.
In response to a new call for Research Chairs in 2011,
UCT submitted 41 applications in strategic research areas
identified by the university, and were awarded four Research
Chairs out of 60 allocated nationally, in the following areas:
Stable Isotopes in Archaeology and
Palaeoenvironmental Studies;
Environmental and Social Dimensions of the Bio-
Reaction Engineering;
Industrial Computational Fluid Dynamics.
In this particular round, special consideration had been
given to the universities of technology, rural-based
institutions, and those that had not previously participated
in the programme. Following the award of the 60 new
Research Chairs, 21 universities will be hosting Research
Chairs, compared to the previous 16. UCT is currently
home to 29 SARChI Chairs, of the 154 awarded so far. Of
the 29, one is a Strategic Award to the c*change Centre
of Excellence. A process is currently under way to recruit
a suitable candidate to take up this position.
UCT’s Signature Theme Policy provides a framework for
multi-, inter-, and also trans-disciplinary research to be
undertaken on an inter-departmental and inter-faculty
basis. Selected to drive research in a strategic manner,