Page 138 - Faculty of Health Sciences

Basic HTML Version

UCT Research Report '11
Honorary Staff
Emeritus Professor
Honorary Professors
Part-time Lecturers
Research Fields and Staff
Permanent Staff
Professor Graham Fieggen
Head of Division; Paediatric and Functional Neurosurgery:
spasticity in cerebral palsy, epilepsy surgery; congenital
anomalies including dysraphism and the tethered spinal
cord, hydrocephalus and neuroendoscopy; CNS infection;
Professor Anthony Figaji
Paediatric Neurosurgery, neurotrauma and neurocritical care:
CNS injury andmonitoring techniques including intraoperative
neurophysiology; hydrocephalus and neuroendoscopy; CNS
infection including TB; neurooncology.
Associate Professor Patrick Semple
Pituitary disease and neuroendoscopy; neurocritical care,
neurotrauma, neuroHIV.
Associate Professor Allan Taylor
Neurovascular: diseases, interventions and surgery;
Radiosurgery, stereotactic surgery and neuronavigation;
skull base surgery.
Dr David Le Feuvre, Senior Lecturer
Neurovascular: diseases, interventions and surgery; HIV
vasculopathy, skull base surgery.
Dr David Welsh, Senior Lecturer
Neurospine: diseases and treatment, spinal trauma.
Dr Sally-Jane Rothemeyer, Lecturer
Functional neurosurgery: pain, epilepsy and movement
disorders; neuroHIV.
Dr Llewellyn Padayachy, Lecturer
Paediatric Neurosurgery: craniofacial surgery, paediatric
neurovascular diseases, neurocritical care, monitoring and
Emeritus Professor Jonathan Peter
Paediatric Neurosurgery: intraoperative neurophysiology,
Contact Details
Postal address: H-53, Old Main Building, Groote Schuur
Hospital, Observatory, 7925, South Africa
Tel: +27 21 406 6213
Fax: +27 21 406 6555
UCT General enquiries: +27 21 650 9111
UCT web:
Division of Urology
Head of Division – Professor R D Barnes
Divisional Profile
The Division of Urology renders a urological service
to Groote Schuur Hospital, Red Cross War Memorial
Children’s Hospital and Somerset Hospital. An operating
list is done once per week at Eerste river Hospital,
operating on Groote Schuur Hospital patients.
Dr John Lazarus is head of Paediatric Urology at Red
Cross Hospital and Professor R D Barnes attends
Somerset Hospital for ward rounds and outpatients.
The operating list at Eerste River Hospital is done by
a Senior Registrar assisted by Professor Johan Naudé
(ex head of Division of Urology).
Undergraduate teaching is provided to 6
year medical
students, who do a two week block in Urology.
Postgraduate training is provided to Urology Registrars
and also to supernumerary registrars. The members of
our division make significant contributions at both local
and international meetings. A number of our members
have attended instructional courses both locally and
overseas. The Division has maintained its productivity
despite staff shortages and the financial crisis.
Drs Conray Moolman and Karlheinz Jehle were
successful in the FC (Urol) final exams.
The Division is involved with two combined clinics
– Urological Oncology Clinic (with Radiation
Oncologists) and Female Continence Clinic (with
Gynaecologists). We run a number of other specialised
clinics – Adolescent Spinal Defects Clinic, Haematuria
Clinic, Stricture Clinic, Erectile Dysfunction Clinic,
Reconstructive Urology Clinic and Metabolic Stone