Page 15 - Faculty of Law

Basic HTML Version

Associate Professor L.A. Feris
Environmental law; Liability; Biodiversity; Climate Change;
Trade and Environment
Professor J.N.K. Gibson
Law of the Sea; Coastal Zone Law; Environmental Law
Professor J.I. Glazewski
Environmental Law; Energy Law, Antarctic, Marine
Pollution Law
Ms P.K. Gumede
Environmental Law; Alien Invasive Species, Environmental
Management Agreements; African Customary Law; Marine
Pollution Law
Professor C.M. Murray
Constitutional Law including Co-operative Government,
Parliament, Intergovernmental Relations, Local Government,
Constitution Making, and Comparative Constitutional Law
Mr S.A. Nakhjavani
International Criminal Law; Prosecutorial Powers under the
Rome Statute of the International Criminal Court; African
Domestic Approaches to the Investigation, Prosecution
and Adjudication of International Crimes
Associate Professor A.R. Paterson
Environmental Law; Biodiversity; Protected Areas;
Environmental Fiscal Reform
Ms K. Phelps
Constitutional Criminal Adjudication; Punishment; the
Principle of Legality and Sexual Offences
Ms C.H. Powell
Constitutional Law; International Law; International
Criminal law
Professor P.J. Schwikkard
Evidence, Criminal Procedure
Professor C. Shearing
Governance of Security; Environmental Security
Dr D. Smythe
Law and Society (particularly the use of interdisciplinary
research methods); Criminal Justice Policy; Human Rights;
Violence against Women
Mr A. Tshivhase
Military Justice; Criminal Procedure; Law and Regional
Integration in Africa; Human Rights; Constitutional Law
Associate Professor E. van der Spuy
Policing (public); International Assistance to Policing in
Transition; Security Sector Reform; Police Reform; Peace-
Ms M. von Broembsen
Law and Poverty; Human Rights and Legal Empowerment
of the Poor; the Interrelationship between the Informal
Economy; Alleviation of Poverty and Law
Contract Staff
Associate Professor R. Manjoo
Women’s Human Rights; Violence against Women; Culture,
Religion, Tradition and Human Rights
Ms L. Nijzink
Accountable Government; Parliamentary and Party Politics
in Africa; Constitutional Design and Democratization;
Research Methodology
Emeritus Professors
Professor D.J. Devine
International Law of the Sea; General Principles of
International Law; Regional Integration
Professor D. van Zyl Smit
Criminal Law
Honorary Professors
Professor J. Dugard
Advocate W. Trengove
Honorary Research Associates
Justice L.W.H. Ackermann
Emeritus Justice of the Constitutional Court
Administrative Staff
Ms D. Mwambala
Administrative Officer
Senior Secretary
Ms R. Francke
Contact Details
Postal address: Department of Public Law,
Faculty of Law, University of Cape Town,
Private Bag X3, Rondebosch, 7701
Telephone: +27 21 650 3072
Fax: +27 21 650 5673